Carbonara-With or without cream?

For as long as I can remember, I read about debates about whether the cream has a place in a Carbonara.

And so, I have come to the conclusion that the majority of the original Italian recipes do not include cream. However, there is always “Carbonara Ricca” where cream is beaten with the egg-yolks.

Anyway, this is the recipe I always follow (with cream) and there is no spaghetti left in the plate. It’s an easy recipe.Enjoy!

For 4-6 persons

1 pckg of spaghetti No 7

150 gr smoked pancetta (or smoked bacon)

4 egg-yolks (in room temperature)

250 ml cream

80 gr. Pecorino or parmesan cheese (or any other salty cheese)

freshly chopped parsley

salt and ground pepper

Method

Cut the pancetta into small cubes and saute in a deep non-stick frying pan in medium heat until it dries. Don’t use neither oil nor butter. Just the pancetta’s fat will do the job.

Simultaneously, boil the spaghetti according to the instructions on the packet. We want it to be “al dente”.

Using a perforated spoon, move the spaghetti into the frying pan with the pancetta stirring very well. Don’t worry if you add some water along with the pasta. We need it, otherwise the egg will dry on the pasta.

In a bowl we mix the egg-yolks with the cream. We add 6 tbsp of the spaghetti water, too.

We turn the heat off and we pour the egg mix onto the spaghetti slowly stirring with fast moves at the same time. This way, the hot temperature of the spaghetti will help the egg-yolks to fry.

We serve the spaghetti with a big sprinkle of cheese and parsley.

Season well with salt and pepper.

5 comments on “Carbonara-With or without cream?

  1. After study a few of the blog posts on your website now, and I truly like your way of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Pls check out my web site as well and let me know what you think.

  2. Good site! I really love how it is simple on my eyes and the data are well written. I am wondering how I might be notified when a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your RSS feed which must do the trick! Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

