Greek Spinach Pie-The only one


Greek Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) is one of the most well-known Greek traditional dishes. It is well-known to people who love the Greek Cuisine.

In Greece, you can taste Spanakopita practically everywhere, in a house, in the restaurant, as a snack to take out etc.

In my recipe the quantity of ingredients is large. I advice those of you who will venture it to do the same and enjoy a rich,

juicy spinach pie that can stand proudly in the dish. Any time is a good time to go for a Spanakopita together with your main course or as the main dish.

Not to mention that a piece of homemade Spanakopita is perfect for school or a day at work. Enjoy!

GREEK SPINACH PIE

 INGREDIENTS:

1 1/2 kilo of fresh spinach

1 cup of fresh dill finely chopped

1 cup of parsley finely chopped

1 cup of fresh onions finely chopped

1 large onion finely chopped

400-500 gr of crumbled feta cheese

1 cup of Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO)

1/2 a cup of evaporate milk

5 eggs

1 pack of fillo pastry

salt and pepper to taste

HOW TO:

First clean the spinach and discard all the hard outer parts,

leaving the leaves and the soft stems.

Wash it well under plenty of running cold water and cut it in small pieces.

Using your hands, squeeze the cut spinach to get as much water out of it.

Pour half of the olive oil in a large frying pan and sauté the chopped onion.

When the onion becomes translucent, add the chopped fresh onions to be sautéed a little bit as well.

Add the spinach, stirring and mixing with the sautéed onions.

Add the dill, parsley, salt and pepper to taste and mix with the rest of the ingredients.

Lower the heat and simmer until there is no more water in the spinach.

Remove from heat, transfer the spinach in a bowl and pour over the milk to cool it down a bit.

In another bowl, crack the eggs, beat lightly with a fork and add the crumbled Feta cheese and mix with the beaten eggs.

When spinach is half cold pour over the eggs (not sooner because the egg will fry), the feta mixture and mix together.

Divide the fillo sheets into two parts (eg. if they are 8 in total, put 3 at the bottom and the rest on the top).

Start placing the sheets at the bottom of the pan, one by one.

Make sure that you oil each fillo with a brush. If you don’t do that, the sheets will stick together…sheer disaster!

Pour in the mixing and finish with the last fillo sheets, oiling again each one, even the last one.

Sprinkle with a few drops of water on the top fillo to give it a little moisture and put the pan in the oven.

Bake in a preheated oven at 350 degrees for about 30-45 minutes or until the top is golden brown.

Remove from the oven, let it cool down for about 30 minutes and serve.

Greek Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) can also be done without sautéing the spinach.

The only deference is that is going to take about an hour to cook on lower temperature.

Homemade filo pastry can also be used, making two sheets,

one to use for the bottom of the baking pan and one for the top, having the filling in between.

17 comments on “Greek Spinach Pie-The only one

  1. Tha ithela na dokimasw tin syntagi. Fenetai poly apli stin diadikasia. Tha einai I prwto fora pou tha ftiaksw spanakopita. Ti fullo Mporw na xrisimopoihsw?

    • Geia sou Simoril. Euxaristo gia to sxolio sou.
      Nai, einai polu aplh h diadikasia. H gemish ftiaxnetai eukola kai grhgora. Tora gia proth fora tha proteina na pareis thn etoimh sfoliata gia pites (2 kommatia). Tha valeis to ena kato kai to allo apo pano.Ligo prin valeis to tapsi ston fourno,ladose to pano filo me to xeri h to eidiko pinelo.Etsi tha ginei pio tragano. Argotera, otan tha exeis parei to “kollaei”, tha sou doso syntagh na anoigeis to fillo monh sou (an den variesai). Kalh epituxia. An exeis allh aporia, pes mou, ok? Kalh sunexeia.

  2. It’s so GREEK this recipe. Really, even I have heard of it and I’ve never been to Greece (yet). Maybe I’ll try it, but I don’t like the “fillo” sheets. I find that they “cut” my throat. Do you have an alternative for me? Congrads on your blog. Bye.

    • Hi, Marybeta3. First of all, many thanks for sharing your thoughts with us.
      It’s true that “Spanakopita” is synonymous to Greece,and you know it’s such a tasty recipe that everyone loves it, once they try it.
      As far as the “cutting” of the throat is concerned, I’ve heard it many times before. You are not the only one. I, too, prefer to cook spanakopita not with the filo sheets but with the puff pastry. Take a look here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Puff_pastry.
      How to: Pour a little oil at the bottom of your baking pan. Put the one puff pastry sheet. Pour in your filling and cover with the second puff pastry sheet (there are only two in the package) that has been slightly flattened with a rolling pin to one inch bigger than the first sheet. (This ensures all the spinach will be covered). Press edges together with fingertips, making sure mixture is sealed well. Brush the top with egg wash. Take your fork and cut a few slits in the top here and there to allow steam to escape.
      Put it in your preheated oven for 30-45 minutes at 180oC or until it becomes golden brown. My opinion is that Spanakopita is more tasty the next day… Hope it helps. Let me know, ok?

  3. Goodmorning everybody. Great work fruitandcake. Happy to join your cooking party. I know spanakopita. I’ve been to Greece, to the beautiful island of Corfu. In fact, it was the best summer, ever. My family and I have the dearest memories and souvenirs from the island and the people and of course…the food !!!
    Do you have any traditional recipes from the island of Corfu? If my memory serves me right, it was a dish with a very thick spaghetti type and meat. I don’t remember anything else. I really hope you know what I’m talking about because the entire family was crazy about that dish and… we are missing it.
    Thanks for your fine blog. I hope we will be able to visit Corfu again in the future.
    Bye everybody.

  4. Hi, mourmar. Thank you for your lovely comments. I’m very happy to hear that you had a blast in Greece, especially because it was in one of my favorite islands, Corfu. I, too, have spent soooo nice in Corfu with my husband. We spent 8 days and everyday we visited a new beach and yet, I feel like I haven’t seen anything.
    Now, as far as the recipe from Corfu is concerned well I’m two steps ahead of you as I ‘ve already posted the “Healthy Bianco fish, from Corfu with love” recipe. It’s a traditional recipe from the island of Corfu and one I really enjoy cooking and eating. Why don’t you try it out? Don’t be afraid to combine fish and wine (many people do). I assure you that the outcome will be delicious and very unique, very…”Corfian”.
    I wish you good luck and… keep me posted. Bye.

Leave a Reply

